I want to resign from the battle

last night, when I went to go upstairs to read to the kids, I discovered that there beads all over the carpet of each kid’s room, even in the closets. Instead of reading, we spent at least a half hour, maybe more, cleaning up beads and it’s not even close to being done. I help by putting the beads into bigger piles and they have to put them in the container so at least I’m trying to get them to take some responsibility. As I may have mentioned before, it was a monumentally stupid idea for the wife to get this shit for the kids in the first place and I believe I also said that next time they got the beads all over a room, I was going to throw them away. They have to be cleaned up before then can be thrown out but that was the consequence that I laid out so I’m going to stick to that.

If the wife were here, she’d give them another chance and then another, not implementing any real consequence but merely the threat of such and my question is how long does that work?

Here’s how a typical conversation goes between her and one of the kids, and actually sometimes with me, sadly, partly because I don’t want to her her stupid shit about how I’m either overreacting or whatever.

the little girl will get an attitude and the wife will say something like “we’re not going to the pool” and lg will whine “Okay, I’ll stop”.

The same day, lg gets another attitude and the wife will say “do you want to go to the pool”? lg will say yes and the wife will say “then stop!”

It’s always that way, just a threat of a consequence but nothing is ever ever followed through with.

Her justification for this is that sometimes all it takes is a threat, especially when it comes to spankings which I know don’t usually work anyway but why does it have to apply across the board?

Those of you who have kids, I’m interested in any thoughts that you may have on the subject.

Leave a Reply

