an update

I know that I haven’t written in a while so I thought I’d take some time and give you guys an update.

First, I’m listening to drone excursion 014 and I have no fucking clue what to title it, nothing at all. Nothing’s coming to mind, nothing is sounding good, nothing is jumping out at me. It’s pretty minimal and it’s got some weird harmonics that I’m not sure I like so I may scrap it and do something different although those are gone now so maybe it’ll be okay.

The wife got another job offer with a little less salary and less benefits and she was torn, as she usually is about these kinds of things so she asked me what should she do? I said “if it were me, I’d take the job with less money and vacation if it meant I’d be happy.”

She said “but I’ll lose that two weeks at Christmas, it isn’t as much money and the benefits aren’t that good.” I said “There’s more to life than money” and she said “I know” and I thought to myself “why do you ask for my opinion on anything when you’re just going to counteract it”?

there’s that weird harmonic again, maybe I do need to redo this one after all.

She was able to negotiate the salary up a little but it wasn’t where she really wanted it so she’s staying with her current company on the promise that they’re going to give her more money and give her work that she actually enjoys doing, and she’s going to Demark at the end of April. I never get to go anywhere.

I saw one of the most disturbing movies the other week, a movie I haven’t seen since it aired in 1992 called “Child of Rage”. I don’t want to spoil it for anyone but if you haven’t seen it, it’s pretty messed up and it’s based on a true story. There are scenes in there that still haunt me a little.

My desert nocturnes project was finished last Saturday night, after taking most of the day to move around 1500 pounds of sod from a trailer in the front yard to the backyard so the wife could lay it on the dirt that me, her dad and the teenager moved over there the day before.

The collection costs $10 but it’s 40 tracks at just over 24 hours of brand new music. Here’s the link just in case you’re interested.

https://scottlawlor.bandcamp.com/album/desert-nocturnes-ambient-excursions-f or-the-season-of-lent

I haven’t really been feeling motivated to work on collaborations with other people or do much of anything around here over the last week or so but I still manage to get everything done that I need to.

My daughter and I aren’t really fighting to get her ready for school in the morning so that makes an unbearable time of the day a little easier to get through. I am not at all a morning person. In fact, a friend of mine said “You shouldn’t even talk to anyone or do anything until you have your first cup of coffee”. He’s probably right, but I don’t get my first cup of coffee until after I drop the little girl off at school anyway.

One thought on “an update

  1. Parent life hack #5828
    Even though I am not a morning person either (my God the understatement of understatements) I used to set my alarm ten minutes earlier than I normally would. Coffee time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

