it’s a teenage wasteland inside of his head

We got a letter from the school yesterday that said that the teenager has been missing school.

When we asked him about it, or I should say when his mom asked him about it, he said something about taking off after some classes at the tech center with a friend and just skipping out. apparently this friend skips school and does drugs like pot and that sort of thing.

We took his truck away so now he has to take the bus to school and I asked the wife what time is the bus supposed to be here in the afternoon? She said "I don’t even care at this point". My thought is that if I don’t know when the bus comes to drop him off and don’t know what time he should be home, he could just take off with a friend after school and not come home on the bus and I won’t know it. It’s not like the bus pulls up to the house so I couldn’t hear it anyway.

We try to invest a little bit in his future by giving him a truck and this is the result of that investment, skipping school which apparently has been happening since August but we’re just now getting a letter from the school?

Maybe that’s the problem, she’s given him so much and when I try to lay down the law so-to-speak and say things like I’m taking the phone and she says that won’t work, this is the result of all those actions.

So now she has to drive him to work so he’ll still have to pay for the truck and also pay her for gas even though he’s not using the truck. he still has an obligation to pay his share like they agreed upon.

This is all new territory for me so if any of you guys who have teenagers have any words of wisdom regarding anything, I’d appreciate the information.

I told him that he doesn’t deserve to have his girlfriend to fly in for his birthday if he’s going to be like that and he just said "I know" or "right" or some stupid shit but I got the feeling that it was just more of an automatic verbal response rather than an acknowledgement that he messed up and has to take responsibility for it.

The wife doesn’t want to discourage him from looking into college but at the same time, if he’s missed 17 days of school, which is what the letter says apparently, then he may not graduate anyway.

One thought on “it’s a teenage wasteland inside of his head

  1. Anxious Mom says:

    No advice but I’m shocked she took the truck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

