I hate making her cry

even if it’s unintentional like when I accidently threw away a drawing the little girl had worked on. She was going to blame her brother for it but I couldn’t let that happen so the best I could do was say that I was sorry, that I didn’t know it was her drawing from earlier. She said "that wasn’t a nice thing to do" and I felt bad for making her cry and still do, even though this thing happened maybe a half hour ago.

If I could have drawn, I would have redone the picture for her but I can’t and so I don’t know how to make it up to her.

I’m not the only one who knew that the paper was on the floor. The wife came into the kitchen at least a couple of times to refill her coffee so why didn’t she bend down, pick up the paper and ask the little girl if it was hers or better yet, just hang it back on the refrigerator so that I wouldn’t have mistaken it for trash and thrown it away.

Next time, I’ll try to ask what something is before I just throw it away but it would be nice if someone else around here would take initiative to do anything other than either the bare minimum or take the initiative only after being badgered about it for days on end.

3 thoughts on “I hate making her cry

  1. qwietpleez says:

    Over the years I’ve been in this same predicament . . . the good thing is, while parental guilt often lingers longer than it should, most often, children forgive and forget . . .

    Like

  2. SD Gates says:

    Maybe you could sit with her while she draws another and maybe do something special like a get a frame for it, hang it on the wall, so it will always be there for people to enjoy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

