the Lazy House Chronicles chapter 7

first a question. Would any of you like to be my agent and/or editor for this book?

Now that that’s out of the way, here’s the latest chapter of the book of Chronicles of slothful lethargy.

On Saturday, I asked the teenager to make up the guest room bed and he said that since his friend is the one who sleeps in there, he can do it. I said "I don’t care who does it but I’m not doing it myself".

On Sunday, his friend left and the bed still wasn’t completely made up. Okay, I get that he probably didn’t know how to put the mattress cover on, I would guess that not every family uses those so I can see that.

Still, I didn’t do it, even though I’ve been in that room a couple of times to play piano.

Today is Tuesday and after remind the teenager one time last night to make up the bed, is it still in shambles. The recycle and trash haven’t been taken out since probably Saturday and the containment fields for both are pretty full.

The wife came into the kitchen to get a cup of coffee and said "the floor and kitchen table are a mess". You should have the little girl sweep".

I gave her the little hand broom and the dust pan and asked her to sweep around the part of the table where she threw food on the floor. She’s seen me do it plenty of times so she did it pretty well, though I did have to put some stuff in a small pile for her to sweep up a second time but she did a great job and I told her so.

A little while later I asked her to help me empty the silverware out of the dishwasher and she said "I don’t like doing that" but she did it without any other stalling, unlike other lazy fuckers in this damn house.

When she was saying that she didn’t like doing it, I asked "don’t I always tell you thank you and that you do a good job after you help"? I always appreciate all the ways that she helps and always say that she’s such a big helper.

And so it came to pass, another day came and went where the teenager did nothing, the wife told me what needed to be done even though she was right there and I did it. at least there’s hope for the next generation, the little girl. at least a lot of times, she does what I ask so that’s a glimmer of hope in this black hole that I feel that I merely exist in most of the time.

18 thoughts on “the Lazy House Chronicles chapter 7

  1. I take it going on strike isn’t an option? Me being the vindictive bitch I am I would take the littles and vacate the premesis into a nice hotel..fuckallthatshit man. *Raises a glass* It’s never too early to enjoy one

    Like

  2. Anxious Mom says:

    Omg does this teenager not face consequences or punishment for anything?!

    I think it’s great that you take the time to show the little one how to do things. But it’s ridiculous that your wife expects chores from them and not the teen (or herself).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

