welcome to the lazy house

the epitome of lazy is when the teenager is on the toilet and he texts you to say "I need toilet paper". That happened last year and I told him, "it’s a miracle you’re not still up their because I don’t always check my texts right away." I guess the point was taken to heart because, not 5 minutes ago, I get an actual phone call from him and he says "Can you bring me some toilet paper?"

Now I ask you, is that pathetic or am I just out of my fucking mind to have the expectation that a teenager, even as lazy as he is, should be able to take the initiative to see how much toilet paper he has in his bathroom and if he sees that he’s running out, have the forethought to, oh I don’t know, go to where I keep the supply and get either a roll or a package so this doesn’t happen again?"

Do I expect too much from the people that I try to care for on a daily basis around here, do I implore to loudly for some semblance of just a tiny bit of responsibility? If the answer is yes, than I am definitely in the wrong position and someone else should be found who doesn’t care that the children don’t have an inkling of care for their own personal needs.

6 thoughts on “welcome to the lazy house

  1. Anxious Mom says:

    My husband probably could have written this post, except it’d be me and not one of the kids!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anxious Mom says:

    Reblogged this on Blogging for Therapy and commented:
    Check out a friend’s blog and give him a follow 🙂

    Like

  3. Remember when WWII broke out. And young men, even teenagers who lied about their age, went to Europe and defeated the Nazi’s? They got their own toilet paper AND THEY KILLED NAZI’S. Sigh. That was just a couple of generations ago.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. no, you are not asking too much. i’ve had to waddle a time or two when i forgot to check. the next time it happens, text back,”would have better to think about in sooner, like i’ve asked before. you’re on your own.” it would be an excellent teaching opportunity. i bet he won’t forget the next time.

    Like

  5. amommasview says:

    I so hear you! And this post makes me laugh so hard. You know what makes me steam up slightly? Is when I have to go only to realize that someone used up all the paper and didn’t bother to replace it… Did we really sign up for this? I guess it was hidden in the fine print… should have read that… 😉

    Like

  6. stomperdad says:

    Geez, now I know what to expect from my lazy 7 year old! Thanks for the heads up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

